Clinical Assessment FAQs

Stage two of the Clinical Assessment is taking place face to face in Manchester, UK, on 25th, 26th and 27th May 2021. All relevant applicants have been sent details. Further updates regarding detailed arrangements for the NCA Stage 2 have been published on Manchester University’s website.

How do I know if I am required to undertake the Clinical Assessment?

If you qualified from medical school on or before 4th August 2019, you must undertake an assessment of your clinical skills in the UK prior to being granted full eligibility.

What does the Clinical Assessment involve?

The primary purpose of this assessment is to determine suitability to start the foundation programme. The assessments will be undertaken by Manchester University NHS Foundation Trust. Candidates will sit a set of 8-station Objective Structured Clinical Examinations (OSCEs) in approximately 2 and a half hours for the Stage 1 online assessment. Further information on stage 2 will available to those candidates who pass the Stage 1. Stage 2 will be delivered in June 2021.

The stage 1 (online) Clinical Assessment will be held from 16th–20th November 2020 and on 24th November 2020.

I took the Clinical Assessment last year; do I need to take it again?

No. The Clinical Assessment is valid for 2 years.

Can I choose when I take the Clinical Assessment?

No, you cannot choose when to take the assessment. The stage 1 Clinical Assessment will be held from 16th–20th November 2020 and also on Tuesday 24th November 2020. You must attend the date that is provided to you or you will be removed from the application process.

Stage 2 will take place 25th, 26th and 27th May 2021. Progressing onto stage 2 is subject to passing stage 1.

What happens if I fail the Clinical Assessment?

Your application will be deemed ineligible as you will not have met the eligibility criteria for entry to foundation training. Your application will be withdrawn.

What is the cost of the Clinical Assessment?

Applicants who are required to undertake a clinical assessment will be required to pay the full cost of £850 by 16th October 2020 and this is non-refundable.

What is the pass mark for the Clinical Assessment?

For Stage 1, candidates will need to pass 4 of the 8 stations.  For Stage 2, they will need to pass 9 out of the 13 overall stations.  This will mean that any candidate who has only passed 4 stations at Stage 1, will need to pass all 5 stations at Stage 2.

If I pay for the Clinical Assessment and my application is later withdrawn for another reason, for example for not passing PLAB, will I receive a refund?


Clinical Assessment Stage 2

What can applicants expect for Stage 2 of the Clinical Assessment?

Stage 2 of the assessment will be an Objective Structured Clinical Examination (OSCE) that will be delivered face to face. The assessment will focus on the applicants examination skills.

Due to COVID, there will be no real patients, however there will be simulated patients, which are to be treated in exactly the same manner as you would if it was a real patient.

How many stations will there be?

There will be a total of 5 stations. The OSCE will be difference on each day, but they will be carefully designed to ensure equivalent difficulty.

What will applicants be assessed on?
How should I prepare for the exam?
What is the required pass mark?

Each station will have its own pass mark that will be determined in advance by a panel of expert teacher and assessors to reflect the degree of difficulty. This is set by the Angoff method and neither the individual nor the examiners will be told the pass mark for a particular station.

When will I receive my results?

Results will be emailed to applicants on 07th June 2021.  As well as your results, you will also receive feedback about your performance in individual stations. 

Can I appeal my outcome?

No. In line with Manchester University NHSFT regulations, you cannot appeal against the clinical and academic judgement of an examiner. If you wish to complain that the correct processes and procedures have not been followed during the assessments, you must submit an appeal in writing to the UKFPO, clearly explaining your grounds for the appeal. 

What if I need Reasonable Adjustments?

If you require Reasonable Adjustments, please inform the UKFPO by emailing as soon as possible. Please see the UKFPO “Reasonable Adjustments for Clinical Assessments” guidance. (link guidance).